Government And Administration Home > Delhi > About Delhi > Government And Administration

Government And Administration

It is the government of Delhi that is in-charge of the national capital territory and its adjoining 9 districts.  The Delhi government comprises three-tier powers, including executive, judiciary and legislative. The Legislative Assembly of Delhi has 70 members.

As the Governor is the head of other states in India, the head of Delhi State is the Lieutenant Governor but the post like the governors’, is mostly ceremonial. The Lieutenant Governor is appointed by the President of India, as per the suggestions and advice of the Central Government in Delhi. The Chief Minister of Delhi, who is the head of the government of Delhi, is the one who has the executive powers. He or she is directly elected by the people. The present Chief Minister of Delhi is Arvind Kejriwal, who has become the Chief Minister of Delhi for the second time, the earlier term being a short one because of his resignation. His party, AAP or Aam Aadmi Party saw a historical victory in the general elections in which the party swept 67 of the 70 seats in the Legislative Assembly.

In the Judiciary level, it is the Delhi High Court that is in-charge. There are two smaller courts as well, the Small Causes Court that deals with civil cases and the Sessions Court that is entrusted with criminal cases. The Delhi Police Force is regarded as one of the largest police forces in the world and is headed by the Commissioner of Police. The headquarters of Delhi Police are established at ITO, the landmark area that serves as the connection point between East Delhi and the rest of the Capital.

Political Parties in Delhi

Delhi is where the power rests. Being the Capital of India and home to the Parliament of India, it is at Delhi where major political happenings take place. Decisions that impact the whole of India are taken in the corridors of Delhi. Hence Delhi occupies an important position in the political sphere of the country. Thus, when you say political parties of Delhi, it means all the major and minor political parties from different parts of India. While the party in power in the Central government can make policies, the opposition parties ensure that these policies are kept in check and are people friendly. This democratic principle that drives Indian democracy is what makes India the largest democracy in the world. India has many parties, some national level and some regional, as it follows a multi-party system. Most of these parties have headquarters in Delhi.

The performance of the political parties or rather, the seats won by them in elections determine if they are eligible for accreditation or not. Only those parties registered with the Election Commission of India are eligible to form parties or fight elections. While there are some parties that function only in their respective regions, there are many parties that function in almost the whole country and these are the national political parties, examples of which are INC or Indian National Congress, BJP or Bharatiya Janata Party, CPI or Communist Party of India, and more.

The parties set up for the interests of regional people and which work for particular regions are called as regional parties. Trinamool Congress, Akali Dal, DMK or Dravid Munnetra Kazhagam, etc., are such parties.

Delhi Municipal Corporation

Set up as an autonomous body, MCD or the Municipal Corporation of Delhi oversees the governance of 8 districts in Delhi state. MCD was one of the three corporations, others being the New Delhi Municipal Council and the Delhi Cantonment Board. Since it covered an area of around 1,397.3 square kilometers and provided civic amenities to a population of more than 11 million, MCD was regarded as the one of the largest municipal bodies in the world.

MCD governed some of the most populated regions in the world. Another unique aspect of MCD is that it has to cater to rural villages along with urban areas, the requirements of both regions being different and it also has to look after colonies, settlements and more. MCD also has to look out for unauthorized settlements and look into their regularization as and when it comes up.

MCD Zones in Delhi

The entire MCD area is divided into 12 zones:

  • City
  • Karol Bagh
  • Sadar Paharganj
  • West Delhi
  • Civil Lines
  • Shahdara South
  • Shahdara North
  • Rohini
  • Narela
  • Najafgarh

General Administration in Delhi

As the name suggests, the General Administration Department of Delhi is in-charge of all the administrative matters. It functions under the State of Delhi Government and its office is located at the Delhi Secretariat. The Department has to look into the administrative matters concerning the ministers in the Delhi government and also of the 700 gazetted and non-gazetted officers and other officials. It has to oversee the management of important functions of the government and also look into the various protocol matters. The General Administration Department also has to manage the library and canteen and the 17 different government departments too are under its control.

Co-ordination Branches of General Administration in Delhi

Click on the below link to know more about co-ordination branches of the General Administration Department:

Related Image


Related Topics


Delhi’s economy has seen a consistent increase over the years. The investor-friendly policies of the government....


Delhi follows the same rule as any other state, in the education sector. Delhi’s education system is the three-tier....

Regions In Delhi

Delhi, the capital city of India, was growing...

Religion in Delhi

Delhi is a place where people from different...